*Update eNLC Implementation: What Travel Nurses Need to Know

January 18, 2018

On January 19, 2018, the new Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) program was implemented. This program will provide nurses the opportunity to accept jobs in states where they were not previously licensed, without having to acquire additional state specific licenses. Under the eNLC, any nurse who has a NLC license issued before July 20, 2017 will be grandfathered into an eNLC license, with the exception of nurses residing in Rhode Island.

eNLC States

NLC Changes

With all but one state joining the eNLC, the NLC will dissolve July 18, 2018. However, CO, NM, WI, and RI nurses with a multistate license can work in CO, NM, WI, and RI for six months after their state has joined the eNLC.

State Work in eNLC states: Work in CO until: Work in NM until: Work in RI until: Work in WI until:
Colorado 01/19/2018 - - 07/18/2018 -
New Mexico 01/19/2018 - - 07/18/2018 -
Rhode Island Legislation pending 07/18/2018 07/18/2018 - 06/11/2018
Wisconsin 01/19/2018 - - 06/11/2018 -

Contact your state’s Board of Nursing for more information about how this new licensure will affect you.