eNLC Implementation: What Nurses Need to Know

June 11, 2019

On January 19, 2018, the new  Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) program was implemented. This program provides nurses the opportunity to accept jobs in states where they were not previously licensed, without having to acquire additional state specific licenses. Under the eNLC, any nurse who has a NLC license issued before July 20, 2017 will be grandfathered into an eNLC license if their state is becoming an eNLC state.

eNLC States

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida (new)
  • Georgia (new)
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas (July 1, 2019)
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana (July 1, 2019)
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina 
  • North Dakota  
  • Oklahoma (new)
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia (new)
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming (new)

Kansas and Louisiana will be joining the eNLC on July 1, 2019, and Fastaff highly encourages Kansas & Louisiana RNs to take the first steps towards obtaining a Compact license. See how by clicking the links below.

Kansas Compact Licensure

Louisiana Compact Licensure

Contact your state’s Board of Nursing for more information about how this new licensure will affect you.